Heavy Duty Huaraches.

I just received a comment on my post from Cuernavaca asking what the most heavy duty Huaraches look like? Traditional Huaraches are typically heavy duty as they are made for people working the field and living on the land.
But the most heavy duty Huaraches that I have seen so far on my travels were in San Cristobal de las Casas in Chiapas and worn by who I think is a Lacandon Mayan. In this case the sole was so thick that it must have come off a tractor.
See the photos below.

Also the white leather Chrome-tanned Huaraches like these ones from Quiroga are considered hard wearing because the Chrome leather will not stretch when wet.


8 Comments on “Heavy Duty Huaraches.”

  1. Diane says:

    I like those heavy duty huaraches but I bet they are extremely heavy.

    Can you explain the armadillo?

  2. Hello.
    Please help.
    Do you know of a good web site to buy huaraches???
    Thanks
    gary

  3. Diane says:

    No, I meant the actual armadillo. The one in the picture that is dangling on a string like some kind of purse.

  4. lion says:

    If you want to find Mexican Huarache, search at http://www.mercadolibre.com and type huarache artesanal, and you will find many

    • huaracheblog says:

      Or try http://www.ebay.com, I think its part of the same network as http://www.mecadolibre.com. But on my latest search I was only able to find a handful of Huaraches for sale most of which looked used and none looked very nice. I suppose as postings on both sites change every week or two, if you keep referring to those sites, sooner or later you might come across a nice pair of Huaraches to purchase.


Leave a Reply

