“Profit and tradition in rural manufacture: Sandal production in Sahuayo, Michoacan, Mexico” – PhD Thesis by Victoria Forbes Adam

A few weeks ago Ana Alicia a reader of Huarache Blog kindly pointed me to a 25 year old PhD Thesis about Huaraches Production in Sahuayo, but which I wasn’t able to download.

But then following this post a few days ago I received a message from Alex who was able to very kindly download the Thesis for me.

I have just start reading it and it is very interesting, but also so very well written that I feel both kindred and a bit jealous of Victoria Forbes Adam’s perspective and talent. It appears to be very thorough research about the History of Huarache making in Sahuayo, from process to politics. Why the footwear making process in Sahuayo never fully industrialized like other parts of the world and why cooperatives never succeeded. So far I have read many points that based on my personal experience are still very relevant today, and I think that local government and Huarache workers in Sahuayo would also do well to learn about to develop this unique business further.

However to download the Thesis is not easy because you must first access the ProQuest thesis library/database which requires an affiliation with a University.

But as soon as I have read the Thesis, I will publish some excerpts which I think are the most interesting and relevant. In the meantime if you would like to find the Thesis to download yourself, the link below should take you straight there.

Adam, Victoria
ProQuest Dissertations Publishing:1994
ISBN:9781339558356

Thank you to everyone for your kind help.


6 Comments on ““Profit and tradition in rural manufacture: Sandal production in Sahuayo, Michoacan, Mexico” – PhD Thesis by Victoria Forbes Adam”

  1. toeslayer says:

    I hope you can open this 

  2. Alex says:

    I downloaded the PDF, all 274(!) pages of it. How do I get it to you?

  3. Luis Roldan says:

    It is a craft that could be taken to another level but demands a lot of artisan workmanship which in turn is its main value

    • huaracheblog says:

      Do you mean that it is too demanding, so it will be difficult for the craft to reach another level? On the flip side it probably can be quite profitable if Huaraches are made in factories, but for whom?


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.